Special Town Meeting

The Special Town Meeting was called to order by First Selectman Susan Chapman at 7:48 p.m. The start of the meeting was delayed due to the turnout at the scheduled location of the Community Room being larger than the room could accommodate. It was announced that the meeting could be postponed to a future date at a location able to accommodate a large crowd or could be moved to the Senior Center. The consensus of the room was to move to the Senior Center so the meeting could be held that evening as noticed. After the Pledge of Allegiance was recited, the call of the meeting was read by Pamela Dohan, Town Clerk. Gail Lehman made a motion to accept the call as read, seconded by Roberta Ilardo, passed by voice vote.

Susan Chapman called for nominations for moderator. Kim Hanson nominated Michael Gill, seconded by Bob Jano. Being no further nominations, Susan Chapman asked the Town Clerk to cast one ballot for Michael Gill as moderator; so cast.

Moderator Gill read Resolution #1:

Be it Resolved, that that the adoption of an Ordinance for the prevention and remediation of housing blight, defining housing blight and standards of neglect, authorizing designated agents of the municipality to remediate blighted conditions, and providing for civil penalties for the violation of such ordinance and a lien on real estate for unpaid penalties be approved.

Shane Cosentino made a motion to move the Resolution to the floor for discussion, seconded by Peter Ballard. Moderator Gill called for discussion. After discussion by Felix Rubino, Chris Halpin, Bill Moran, Anthony Varvaro, Bruce Vahjen, Kevin Ahern, Grace Hough, Roger Groetschel, Tom Rywolt, Mark Rocconi, Phil Buonanno, Robert Burke, Susan Chapman, Valerie White, Sharon Mannion, Sean O'Rourke, Anthony Garcia and Steve Immarigeon; Bob Jano called the question for a vote, seconded by Bill O'Keeffe, approved by voice vote. Resolution #1 vote counted by division of room - 35 yes, 98 no and 4 abstentions. Resolution #1 defeated.

Many of the people in attendance left after the vote on Resolution #1.

Moderator Gill read Resolution #2:

Be it Resolved, that the adoption of an Ordinance prohibiting the discharge of water onto public highways and roads, regulating connections to storm drains, authorizing designated agents of the municipality to enforce the ordinance and abate violations therof, and providing for civil penalties for the violation of such ordinance be approved.

Gail Lehman made a motion to move the Resolution to the floor for discussion, seconded by John McCartney. Moderator Gill called for discussion. After discussion by Susan Chapman, Anthony Varvaro, Grace Hough, Jonathan Dovovan, John McCartney, Brian Ceresna, Steve Immarigeon, Bruce Kemble, Eric Kozlowski, Anthony Garcia, Mark Rocconi, Gregory Moore and Chris Halpin; Anthony Varvaro called the question for a vote, seconded by Bill O'Keeffe, approved by voice vote. Resolution #2 vote counted by division of room - 18 yes, 52 no and 2 abstentions. Resolution #2 defeated.

Moderator Gill read Resolution #3:

Be it Resolved, that the adoption of amendments to the Code of Ethics prohibiting discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation, regarding the receipt of gifts by a municipal official or employee from a family member, relative or close personal friend, and establishing a procedure for the hearing of complaints of violations of the Code in accordance with the procedures specified by the General Statutes be approved.

Don Blackwell made a motion to move the Resolution to the floor for discussion, seconded by Gary Mummert. Moderator Gill called for discussion. After discussion by Anthony Varvaro, Mike Gill, Kim Hanson, Susan Chapman, Kathy Proteau and Anthony Garcia; Don Blackwell called the question for a vote, seconded by John McCartney. Resolution #3 held by voice vote, all in favor with 1 abstention. Resolution #3 approved.

John McCartney made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Donald Blackwell; approved by voice vote. Meeting adjourned at 8:59 p.m.

135 registered voters, 17 property owners and 5 visitors in attendance.

Division of Room and Voice Votes Taped

Respectfully Submitted,

Pamela J. Dohan Town Clerk