

Town of New Fairfield Town Clerk's Office

TOWN HALL 4 BRUSH HILL ROAD NEW FAIRFIELD, CT 06812

(203) 312-5616

PAMELA J. DOHAN CERTIFIED TOWN CLERK

January 2, 2019

Special Town Meeting

The Special Town Meeting was called to order by First Selectman Pat Del Monaco at 7:08 p.m. After the Pledge of Allegiance was recited, the call of the meeting was read by Pamela Dohan, Town Clerk. Pat Del Monaco made a motion to accept the call as read, seconded by Khris Hall. Call passed by voice vote.

Cynthia Stevens made a motion to nominate Cheryl Reedy as moderator, seconded by Iris Rainone. Hearing no further nominations, Pat Del Monaco declared Cheryl Reedy the moderator.

Moderator Reedy read Resolution #1 and stated it would be removed for submission to the voters by machine vote at such date and time as may be determined.

Resolution #1:

Be it Resolved that the adoption of an Anti-Blight Ordinance defining blighted premises, establishing a Blight Prevention Board and specifying procedures to remediate blighted premises be approved.

Such ordinance, if approved shall be adopted as Chapter 3, Article V, Code of Ordinances, New Fairfield, Connecticut, entitled "Article V. Anti-Blight"

Moderator Reedy asked for a motion to set the date and time for the machine vote. Jordan Van Akin made a motion to hold the vote on Tuesday, January 15, 2019, seconded by Bobby Ridgeway. Tom Quigley made a motion to amend the motion to Saturday, January 12, 2019, seconded by Wes Marsh. Moderator Reedy called for discussion on the amendment. After discussion by Cynthia Stevens, Peggy Katkocin, Mary Burra, Pamela Dohan, Chris Halpin, Grace Hough, Donna Freeborn, Tom Alesi, Dayna Ceresna and JoAnn Meyers; John McCartney called the question, seconded by Tom Quigley, passed by 2/3 vote. Moderator Reedy called for a vote on the amended motion to set the date for Saturday, January 12, 2019. Motion approved with six opposed and one abstention. Pat Del Monaco made a motion to amend the motion to set the time for the machine vote from 12:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m., seconded by Lori Landa. Moderator Reedy called for discussion. After discussion by Jordan Van Akin, Elva Montalvo, Greg Williams and Tom Quigley, Moderator Reedy asked if everyone was ready to vote on the amendment, all in agreement. The amendment to hold the machine vote from 12:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. was approved with one abstention. The vote on the amended motion to hold the adjourned town meeting vote on Saturday, January 12, 2019 from 12:00 p.m. until 8:00 p.m. passed unanimously.

Tom Quigley made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Cynthia Stevens, approved unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.

67 registered voters, 7 property owners and 2 visitors in attendance Voice & Hand Votes Taped

Respectfully Submitted,

Pamela J. Dohan Town Clerk