

The Planning Commission

Town of New Fairfield
New Fairfield, Connecticut 06812

Regular Meeting Minutes
Regular Meeting Monday, December 16, 2019
New Fairfield Town Hall Conference Room
3 Brush Hill Rd, New Fairfield, CT 06812

Commissioners Present:

Ms. Cynthia Ross-Zweig, Chair

Mr. Cory Neumann

Mr. Jeff Morrell

Mrs. Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke

Mr. Patrick Hearty

Commissioners Absent:

Alternates Present:

Mr. Keith Landa

Mr. Patrick Callahan

Alternates Absent:

Mr. George F Martignetti

Guests Present:

Town Officials Present:

Call to Order: 7:30 PM

Pledge of Allegiance

Appointment of Alternates

All commissioners were present.

Approval of November 25th, 2019 Meeting Minutes

Cory Neumann motioned to approve the November 25th meeting minutes. Patrick Hearty seconded the motion. Vote 4-0-1 (Motion approved; Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke abstained)

Approval of November 30th, 2019 Special Meeting Minutes

Patrick Hearty motioned to approve the November 30th meeting minutes. Cory Neumann seconded the motion. Vote 4-0-1 (Motion approved; Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke abstained)

Correspondence/Announcements

Cynthia welcomed new members to the commission.

Public Comment

None

Old Business

None

New Business

Cynthia advises for the budget we need to address any potential surveys or studies that might be done in the next year regarding any upcoming projects. The current project is the lighting study. Cynthia asked if there is anything else based upon the POCD. Patrick Hearty advises that he'll be requesting a lighting study bid from Jane Dodona for two additional lamp posts for the ramp down to Memorial Field. Patrick also stated that he's hoping to utilize prior plans that were done in 1998 and 2005.

2020-2021 Budget

Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke motioned to submit 2020-2021 Planning Commission budget to the town for \$5,953.00. Patrick Hearty seconded the motion. Vote 5-0-0 (Motion approved)

Election of Chairman

Jeff Morrell motioned to recommend Cynthia Ross-Zweig as chairman. Patrick Hearty seconded the motion. Vote 5-0-0 (Motion approved)

Election of Vice Chairman/ Secretary

Cynthia Ross-Zweig motioned to nominate Patrick Hearty as vice chairman. Cory Neumann seconded the motion. Vote 5-0-0 (Motion approved)

Review of Bylaws

Commissioners were all provided with a copy of the bylaws. Cynthia advises that the bylaws state items need to come before the commission two weeks prior to a meeting, but that statutorily that is outdated because the state of Connecticut statues up to the meeting start time if someone makes a request in writing the commission must add them to the agenda. Keith Landa stated the commission might consider moving some items from the bylaws to the standing rules. Keith Landa agrees to make notes over the coming months for items that could be moved to the bylaws.

Subdivision Update

Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke agreed to maintain the subdivision log.

Lighting Study

Patrick Callahan agreed to join Patrick Hearty on the lighting study.

Adjournment 8:18pm

Cory Neumann motioned to adjourn the meeting at 8:18pm. Kirsten Bennett O'Rourke seconded the motion. Vote 5-0-0 (Motion approved)

Received for Record DEC 1 9 2019

amela J. Dohan, Town Olerk, New Fairfield, O