Town of New Fairfield Board of Selectmen 4 Brush Hill Road New Fairfield, CT 06812

MINUTES Board of Selectmen Meeting Thursday, July 26, 2007 7:30 PM High School Library

Members present:
John Hodge, First Selectman
Peggy Katkocin, Selectman
Ron Oliveri, Selectman

Other Town Officials Present:
Bobby Rzasa, Public Works Director

Call To Order First Selectman John Hodge called the meeting to order at 7:30pm

Pledge of Allegiance

Correspondence and Annoucements

First Selectman John Hodge spoke of the watermeal in Williams Pond and the treatment that was used to remedy the situation. Mr. Hodge asked residents that live in that area to limit the use of fertilizers that may cause the treatment to be less effective.

First Selectman Hodge announced that the town received its first check for the pre-treatment plant reimbursement in the amount of \$58,000. Mr. Hodge thanked Director of Management Services Mike Santogatta for all his work with the reimbursement.

John Hodge announced that the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) approved the Shoreline Management Plan. Requests for a rehearing must be submitted within thirty days. Mr. Hodge announced that he has requested that FERC hold in hearing in New Fairfield.

Public Comment

Sunswept Drive resident Miles St. Jacques read a letter to the Selectman asking the town to rethink the Novachipping approach to remediate Sunswept Drive. Mr. St. Jacques noted that the residents of Sunswept Drive would prefer to have the road reclaimed instead. The letter by Mr. St. Jacques as well as, information he obtained will be attached to the minutes of this meeting. Public Works Director Bobby Rzasa spoke of the success of novachipping. A lengthy discussion ensued among the selectmen and Mr. St. Jacques regarding novachipping.

<u>Approval of Minutes-</u> Ron Oliveri made a motion to approve the minutes of the July 12, 2007 regular meeting as presented. John Hodge seconded the motion.

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)

BOS- Minutes 07/26/07 Page 1 of 2 Attachments- 12 pages

Squantz Pond Update

John Hodge spoke of another drowning at Squantz Pond that occurred on July 22nd. Mr. Hodge read a letter from DEP Commissioner Gina McCarthy and also outlined new safety measures that will go in effect immediately designed to prevent further tragedies. The park will now be limited to 250 cars vs. the previous 500 cars. Mr. Hodge stressed that any negative comments in the paper had nothing to do with the workers in the park. Mr. Hodge thanked all the workers in the park and the New Fairfield rescue workers for a tremendous job and further thanked State Senator David Cappiello, State Representative Mary Ann Carson and State Representative Jan Giegler for all their help with this tragedy.

<u>Personnel Report</u>- John Hodge made a motion to accept the Personnel report as presented. Ron Oliveri seconded the motion. (Such document to be attached to the minutes of this meeting).

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)

<u>Speed limits in private communities</u> - John Hodge made a motion to authorize the Board of Selectmen acting as the legal traffic authority to approve speed limits in The Birches, Bogus Hill, Candlewood Hills, Candlewood Isle, Candlewood Knolls, Hillview Association, Hollywyle, Inglenook, Joyce Hill, Knollcrest, Lavelle and Sail Harbor as presented. (Such document to be attached to the minutes of this meeting). Ron Oliveri seconded the motion.

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)

Appointment- John Hodge made a motion to appoint Brian Bosley as a permanent member of the Ball Pond Advisory Committee. Peggy Katkocin seconded the motion.

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)

Bond reduction for Red Fox Crossing- John Hodge made a motion to authorize the bond reduction for Red Fox Crossing subdivision in the amount of \$386,496 from the existing bond of \$525,996 for a remaining bond amount of \$139,500. Peggy Katkocin seconded the motion.

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)

Public Comment- None

General Discussion: Items to be brought up by selectmen for future agendas- None

<u>Adjournment-</u> Ron Oliveri made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 8:47 pm. Peggy Katkocin seconded the motion.

Vote: 3-0-0 (Motion approved)