ZONING COMMISSION TOWN OF NEW FAIRFIELD 4 BRUSH HILL ROAD NEW FAIRFIELD, CT 06812 PHONE: 203-312-5646

MINUTES

Special Meeting

April 29, 2010

New Fairfield Library Community Room 7:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Jon Moran Chairperson, Joe Letizia, Kevin Van Vlack, Fred Zering, John Parille, Alternate, Lyn Sheaffer Zoning Commission Secretary

1. Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 7:05 p.m. by Chair, John Moran

2. Public Comment

None

Business Item

1. Discussion on Zoning Regulations

Mr. Moran explained that he and Kevin Van Vlack had met and reviewed the Storm Water Management regulation. He didn't think the commission meant every proposed shed would need a storm water management plan. They felt the Commission may want to exempt sheds and gravel driveways. They also felt the Commission should not require an A2 survey just to build a shed.

The Commission discussed and decided Decks should be considered pervious surfaces up to 500 sq. ft. Mr. Van Vlack explained he felt decks under 500 square feet, made with plans not more than 6" wide with spacing in between. Decks over 500 sq. feet will still need a storm water management plan.

The Commission decided to add the following verbiage to definition "Not including decks under 500 sq. ft with boards no bigger than 6" with spacing in between." Also remove the verbiage "unpaved driveways."

Mr. Moran read a letter from James & June McGowan asking for some relieve on the coverage calculation of smaller lots. The Commission felt there was no room for change. There are no variances on Storm water management.

Mr. Van Vlack stated the new verbiage should be under regulation 6.7.6 adding:

- 1. Excluding sheds as structures
- 2. Slotted decks with boards no wider than 6", 500 square feet or less are excluded from the calculation of impervious surface.

Mr. Van Vlack asked the ZEO to research definitions for Country Clubs.

The Commission welcomed Alternate, John Parille, the newest member.

Adjournment.

Meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted

Lyn Sheaffer Zoning Commission Secretary