## TOWN OF NEW FAIRFIELD SAFETY COMMITTEE SPECIAL MEETING TUESDAY, DECEMBER 12, 2017

The Special Meeting of the Safety Committee was called to order by Chairman, Linda Fox, at 11:08 a.m. in the Library Community Room.

**Present**: Linda Fox, Mike Ellenberg ,Kara Mehler, Eric Kist (arrived at 11:20), Derrek Guertin, Ed Sbordone, and Tim Simpkins.

Absent: Linda Lull and Mike McCarthy.

## **Approval of Minutes:**

A motion to approve the October 3, 2017 minutes was made by Ed Sbordone and seconded by Mike Ellenberg. Approved by all.

## **Old Business:**

Evacuation Plans: Jim Vigar is no longer an employee of the town, but Mike Ellenberg will check with him to see if had completed anything before he left. Derek Guertin stated that there were no requirements for fire drills, but he will plan two a year. The next one will be in the Spring. He will also revise assembly points..

Accident Reports: Kara Mehler reported that there were no accidents on the town side related to safety issues. There was also some discussion on recordable/reportable accident injuries. Kara Mehler contacts Public Works if there is an issue that needs to be addressed.

Parking issues: Handicapped spots, lining the parking area, and a sign about traffic/patrons behind the library was discussed.

The doors on the back of the Town Hall need to be replaced. Mike Ellenberg will talk to Russ Loudon about this.

The monthly reports on exit signs, emergency lights, and fire extinguishers have not been done. Someone from each building will do this going forward. Annex: Kara Mehler. and Ed Sbordone.; Library: Linda Fox.; Town Hall: Tim Simpkins. Derek Guertin will explain how this should be done and will send us forms to fill out.

Some SDS sheets have been done.

The CIRMA award has not been determined yet.

## New Business:

2018 meeting dates will be March 13, June 12, September 11, and December 11.

Safety Issues: No new ones at this time.

First Selectman, Pat Del Monaco would like to attend future Safety Committee meetings.

Motion to adjourn was made by Tim Simpkins. Meeting adjourned at 11:31.

Respectfully submitted,

Linda Fox, Chairman