ZONING COMMISSION TOWN OF NEW FAIRFIELD

4 BRUSH HILL ROAD NEW FAIRFIELD, CT 06812 PHONE: 203-312-5646

MINUTES

Regular Meeting

Thursday, December 5, 2013

New Fairfield Library Community Room 7:30 p.m.

PRESENT: Kevin VanVlack, Vice Chairman, Joe Letizia, Alternate Steve Hanrahan, Alternate John Brown, Zoning Enforcement Officer Tom Gormley, Commission Secretary Lyn Sheaffer.

1. Call to Order

Meeting called to order by Vice Chair Kevin VanVlack at 7:30 p.m.

Mr. Moran elevated Alternates Mr. Hanrahan and Mr. Brown to full voting status.

2. Public Comment

None

PUBLIC HEARING

1. <u>Continued Site Plan Application SI – 13-014 - 48 Route 39 - Construct 3 Buildings for permitted uses in the LI Zone; Peter Young Agent</u>

Mr. VanVlack red the letter of withdrawal dated 11/1/13 from Peter Young into the record.

MOTION

Mr. Letizia motioned to close public hearing 13-014. Mr. Hanrahan seconded the motion. Vote taken:

Joe Letizia Yes Steve Hanrahan Yes John Brown Yes Kevin VanVlack Yes

Public Hearing closed.

BUSINESS ITEM:

1. <u>Continued Site Plan Application SI – 13-014 - 48 Route 39 - Construct 3 Buildings for permitted uses in the LI Zone; Peter Young Agent</u>

Application withdrawn. The Commission agreed to waive the application fee for the next application.

1. Review of Site Plan Application from New Fairfield Press; Site Plan Application # SI -13-024

Mr. John Parille, owner New Fairfield Press approached the Commission.

Mr. Parille reviewed the application. NF Press is in and operating. He explained the Fire Marshall inspected the building and he needs to tag the fire extinguishers. The Town Engineer did not have a letter ready for the meeting tonight as well.

Mr. Gormley, ZEO explained he talked with the Fire Marshall and there are just a few minor issues. He also explained there is no problem with parking at the site.

Mr. VanVlack stated the application could be approved contingent upon receipt of missing letters.

Mr. Letizia asked about signage, the same signage will be used.

MOTION

Mr. Letizia motioned to approve Site Plan Application SI-13-024 as presented contingent upon receiving letters of approval from the New Fairfield fire Marshall, Health Dept. and Town Engineer and a completed application be submitted. Mr. Hanrahan seconded the motion. Vote taken:

Joe Letizia Yes
Steve Hanrahan Yes
John Brown Yes
Kevin VanVlack Yes

Motion carried unanimously.

2. <u>Petition from Kevin Hart for change in the Zoning Regulations.- Change to the size of freestanding sign in the Neighborhood Business District</u>

Public Hearing set for next regular meeting January 9, 2013.

3. Discussion and Review of E-mail of Brian Marshall - Relative to Pool House

Mr. Brian Marshall, 16 Sunswept Drive approached the Commission. Mr. Marshall read his e-mail requesting a discussion of regulations with regard to pool house.

The Commission discussed and explained the process for a change in the regulations. Mr. VanVlack explained he could have a structure, however plumbing and heat is not permitted.

4. Approval of 2014 Zoning Commission Meeting Schedule

MOTION

Mr. Hanrahan motioned to approve the 2014 Zoning Commission Meeting Schedule as presented. Mr. Letizia seconded the motion. Vote taken:

Joe Letizia Yes Steve Hanrahan Yes John Brown Yes Kevin VanVlack Yes

Motion carried unanimously.

5. Violations Report – Zoning Enforcement Officer

Mr. Gormley, ZEO reviewed several violations.

• He sent a letter to Dr. Burrio questioning construction, He explained they finished construction and the wall had been completed.

6. Communication / Correspondence

Mr. VanVlack read a letter from the Town of Brookfield re: Illumination of signs, and a moratorium on medical marijuana.

7. Minutes October 3, 2013

MOTION

Mr. Letizia motioned to accept the minutes of October 3, 2013 as presented. Mr. Hanrahan seconded the motion. Vote taken:

Joe Letizia Yes Steve Hanrahan Yes John Brown Yes Kevin VanVlack Yes

Motion carried unanimously.

8. Adjournment

Meeting adjourned at 8:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted

Lyn Sheaffer

Zoning Commission Secretary